Report your Uber or Lyft accident right away. This gives you the maximum amount of time to pursue compensation from your rideshare driver or their employer. Also, partner with a Sacramento rideshare accident lawyer who will help you seek the most compensation possible.
The team at Triumph Law, P.C. can walk you through the process of reporting a ridesharing accident. Our rideshare accident attorney is available to discuss your crash and how to hold any at-fault parties accountable. Contact us today to get started.
Steps to Report a Rideshare Accident
For those who are involved in an Uber collision, fill out an online form to report your crash. The rideshare provider asks for general information about you and details about your accident. Once you file your claim, Uber reviews it and then responds accordingly.
After a Lyft accident, submit your claim online. The entire process usually takes about 10 to 15 minutes to complete. The rideshare company encourages accident victims to provide as much information as they can.
In California, you have up to 10 days from the date of your ridesharing accident to report the incident to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You should also notify the California Highway Patrol (CHP) within 24 hours of your collision. Doing these things can help boost your chances of getting compensation for your crash.
Your Triumph Is Our Triumph(916) 500-0000
What Can Happen if You Do Not Report an Uber or Lyft Accident
Failure to report an Uber or Lyft crash may compromise your ability to secure damages. An auto insurance company will do whatever it can to avoid paying compensation for your collision. If you wait too long to report your collision, an insurer may use this in its argument against you.
If you get hurt in a ridesharing crash in California, there is a two-year statute of limitations for requesting damages. In a case where you do not discover your injury immediately, you have one year from the date you find out about it to recover compensation from any at-fault parties. Beyond the statute of limitations for your accident, you are solely responsible for any costs associated with your injury.
Rather than wait to report a Lyft or Uber crash or choose not to tell anyone about it, consult with a ridesharing accident lawyer. At Triumph Law, P.C., we can answer frequently asked questions and many others about what to do after a rideshare collision. To learn more, reach out to us.
Contact Us for A Free (916) 500-0000
& Confidential Consultation
What to Do After a Rideshare Accident
Following a rideshare collision or any car accident, call 911. This brings police officers to the scene to collect information from you and others involved in the incident. Medical personnel will also come to the scene to treat you and anyone else who has suffered injuries.
Use your smartphone to capture photos and videos of the accident scene. You only have one opportunity to collect this proof. Get evidence that highlights your injury and other aspects of your crash.
In addition to reporting the ridesharing collision to Uber or Lyft, get the at-fault driver’s insurance information. California requires all drivers to have car insurance. If a driver was underinsured or uninsured, you may need to file a personal injury claim to get compensation from them.
Receive the Triumph You (916) 500-0000
Need & Deserve Today
Who Is Liable in an Uber or Lyft Accident
In many instances, a ridesharing company covers a driver who causes an accident. Uber or Lyft drivers are protected under their respective employers’ insurance policies. If you get into an accident caused by a negligent ridesharing company, file a claim with their employer, and this business may compensate you.
There are instances where a rideshare driver does not have their app on or is off the clock when they cause an accident. In these instances, the motorist is responsible. The driver’s insurance may cover the losses you incur, but a personal injury lawsuit may still be necessary.
For example, an Uber or Lyft driver may have shut down their app for the day and headed home when they crashed their car into your vehicle. The motorist had previously been working for a ridesharing company but was not actively doing so when your accident occurred. Thus, you may need to file a claim with the at-fault motorist’s insurance company to get compensation.
What to Expect After You Report a Rideshare Accident
It may take time to receive compensation following your ridesharing collision. If you submit a claim to Uber or Lyft, the business will review your claim but may dispute what you are requesting. On the other hand, if you are going through an at-fault driver’s auto insurer, this business is likely to do everything within its power to avoid a payout.
Hire a ridesharing accident lawyer who has gotten many positive client reviews. This lawyer represents your best interests, advocates for you, and protects your legal rights. They make sure you are well-positioned to get a fair settlement.
Your attorney can help you gather evidence and prepare an argument that explains you deserve damages. They can calculate your losses and ensure you submit a request for a reasonable amount of compensation. Along with these things, your lawyer negotiates on your behalf and helps you secure enough money to cover your losses.
How to Prove Fault After a Ridesharing Accident
You are responsible for providing sufficient evidence to show an at-fault party was negligent in your ridesharing crash case. This requires you to illustrate that all of the elements of negligence were present at the time of your collision. These are:
- The at-fault party had a legal obligation to avoid careless and reckless acts that could endanger you and others.
- This party violated their legal obligation toward you.
- Since the party breached their duty of care, they caused your rideshare crash.
- You suffered quantifiable or subjective losses due to the party’s actions.
At Triumph Law, P.C., we understand the elements of negligence and how they relate to ridesharing accident cases. We can take a look at your collision, help you figure out if these elements were present, and determine if now is the right time to file your claim. To schedule a free consultation, contact us today.